Project Pan Round 1 – Update #12 + New makeup product

I went travelling this weekend to see France play Honduras in the World Cup, so the update comes a bit late again this week. Nothing too exciting has happened, but next week there’ll definitely be a finished product.

1- MAC Lipglass in Pink Lemonade: I haven’t used it this week.

2 – MAC Plushglass in Bubble Tea: I haven’t used it this week. I’ve been carrying it in my purse just so if I want to reapply a lip product in the middle of the day but I never remember to do that.

3 – Contém 1g (brazilian brand) Lip Pencil in Pele Rosado (or Flesh Pink): I haven’t used it this week.

4 – MAC Lipstick in Please Me: I’ve used it a couple of times this week.

5 – Shiseido Sun Protection Eye Cream SPF 32: I’ve used it almost everyday of this week.

6 – Benefit Ooh La Lift: I’ve been using it everyday, it’s nearing the end.

7 – Benefit Erase Paste in number 2 (medium): Finished it March 27th.

#7 Replacements: NARS radiant Creamy concealer in Honey and NYX HD Concealer in Light: I’ve used both most days this week.

8 – Benefit Eyebrow Pencil in Medium:  Finished it May 9th.

9 – Benefit Eye Bright: Used it up April 11th.

10 – Benefit Porefessional: I’ve been using it everyday, I believe this is this product’s last week, it’s been getting really difficult to get product out.

11 – NARS Orgasm blush: I’ve used it most days. It’s been difficult to use it because the strip of product is so thin, that it makes the application a bit streaky.

NARS Orgasm blush

12 – Bare Minerals Original Foundation in Light (deluxe size): used it up March 21st.

 13 – Maybelline Great Lash mascara Lots of Lashes in brownish black: I’ve used it most days, it’s getting goopy as I’ve said before, so I’m thinking about tossing it soon. I’m so bad at throwing out mascara but this one’s pretty old.

14 – Shiseido Perfect Mascara: I haven’t used it.

15 – Maybelline The Colossal: I think I’ve used it once.

16 – Benefit Bad Gal mascara sample: Finished it April 24th.

 

This week I also got a new makeup product, but since it was a gift, it doesn’t count as cheating on my no buy, right? It’s a lipstick by Mary Kay my mom got me because I was feeling a bit down, it’s called Coral Bliss and it’s very hydrating. Since it’s almost Winter here in Brazil, this lipstick’s great for moisture, and it’s a pretty orangey coral shade.

 

 

 

Luiza

 

Don’t forget to follow me on twitter @theppangal to keep up with my updates!

6 thoughts on “Project Pan Round 1 – Update #12 + New makeup product

  1. jc says:

    I’m enjoying your blog, as I’ve also accumulated a large amount of cosmetics and am trying to use up some products. Seeing your blog can be very reinforcing! I need to have more self-control with my no-buy (which has become a limited-buy). My large collection of makeup results from a combination of my lack of self-control and hearing about new products on blogs and vlogs. I am also a sucker for a sale! I’ve collected so much, I am starting to think I’ll never get through it all!

    It may be cool to see a before and after comparison of some of the products during your weekly updates. Perhaps you can show a photo of a lipstick from the last update and a photo of it from the current update side by side!

    Much love from Detroit~

    Like

    • ProjectPanGal says:

      Thanks so much for the feedback, I really appreciate it. It really is so hard resisting a good sale or passing on a new product, but what I’ve learned from doing this project pan is that we shouldn’t do a really strict no buy, we should do a limited buy like you said, because I believe we get more self aware once we look at our collection and realize we have more than we want/need. And this awareness will keep us from buying like there’s no tomorrow (or like that new pink lipstick will disappear from the face of the earth).
      I too suffer from lack of self control, and this project pan/no buy has helped me look at buying makeup in a different way. Now I wouldn’t feel horrible if I bought a new product because I’m learning to self restraint more, to look up more reviews online of the products I want to try, because then I know it’s a product I’ll love and use until it’s finished. I guess that’s what’s more healthy anyways, because we see so many girls doing strict no buys and when it ends, they spend hundreds of dollars on new makeup (hopefully this little rant made sense).

      I really like your suggestion, maybe I’ll start doing it on Round 2 of my project pan, because on Round 1 I was planning on putting side by side pictures of the first update with the very last, what do you think?

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment, I appreciate it very much.

      Love from Brazil 😉

      Like

  2. jc says:

    Yes, I think placing a photo of the product from the very first update next to a photo of it from the very last update (did that make sense?) would show all the progress you’ve made on that item! It may also feel very rewarding to see all the progress you’ve made. 🙂

    I also have a problem with things that are limited edition. I’m such a sucker for items with the “limited edition” label, I’m sad to say. I get the item home and realize I have other items of very similar color! It’s then I realize the world is not going to end if I don’t have that item! Fortunately, most stores here in the States have pretty good return policies.

    I’ve also found that just organizing my collection makes the reality of how much I actually own absurdly clear. I recently organized all my blush by color. Beforehand, I had some blush stored there… some other blush stored there… Seeing it all in one place was a reality check. Also, organizing them by color helped me realize how much I don’t need another coral-orange blush!

    Like

    • ProjectPanGal says:

      I totally agree, limited edition is dangerous. We feel like it’s the end of the world if we don’t get our hands on that specific product and like you said, we buy it, get home and realize it’s a dupe for something else we have. And why oh why do we feel like we need so many dupes? Why can’t we feel satisfied with the 2 peachy pink blush we already own? lol.
      I really envy the States’ return policy. Here in Brazil if you buy it, you have to keep it unless there was a problem originally with the product (and if that happens you have to fight the store to exchange the product) and cosmetics are also really expensive so that’s why we really need to do our research before buying something.
      I recently decided to store all my makeup in one place and like you said, seeing it all together in one place is really different than seeing them scattered around. I’m planning to do a post showing my entire makeup collection when I have the time. I think it’s going to be a double reality check for me, because it’s tough seeing it all together but it’s gonna be even tougher admitting to the world how much makeup I have lol.
      You said in an older comment you’re trying to use some products, are you documenting it in any way? I love reading about other people trying to use up their makeup. And even if you’re not blogging about it, it’s fun taking pictures of your products to know how far along you’ve come (and be encouraged to keep going)

      Like

      • jc says:

        Well, I don’t have a blog or anything, but I’ve been keeping a list of the products I want to use up, and then crossing out that item once I finish it. Then I replace the finished item with the next product I want to use up. I also date the lists and tally up how many products I’ve used to date. I’ve been doing this for the past couple years.

        I’m not sure if it’s really working to keep me from buying more items, but it’s nice to keep track of what I’ve been using up (I also keep track of items I give to others). It can be difficult to use up some things like blush and eyeshadow, because I like to switch those up pretty often. The items I use consistently are mascara, eyeliner, foundation, concealer and lip balm.

        Even though I’m on a restricted-buy, I think I may make myself a list of 10 blank spots, and fill in each spot every time I buy a new product that I don’t need (like those I already have dozens and dozens of). If I could limit myself to 10 products a year, I’d be in good shape I think!

        Like

Leave a Reply

