The second finished product – Benefit Erase Paste – review

I decided to do in depth reviews of the products that I finish, because I believe that when you finish a product it means you’ve used it enough times to know if it works, if it doesn’t, what are the pros and cons of it.

To begin with, my skin is a MAC NC20, but my under eyes work better with concealers in NW20 (because yellow concealers tend to make my under eye area look gray). I use the color 02 Medium of the Erase Paste. My under eye area is usually really dark, and depending on how much and how well I sleep, it gets darker or a bit lighter.

 

 

This Benefit concealer has a peachy tone (like correctors) and is also an under eye brightener, all in one. It matches my skin quite well and blends in nicely. It doesn’t set so well, it looks very dewey and luminous (not something I personally like for my under eye) so whenever I use this, I feel the need to set it with a powder. It works really well with the under eye setting powder PowderFlage by Benefit as well, but it has been discontinued. I’ve been using it with the Bare Minerals Well Rested setting powder, but I feel like the area gets too light with this powder. I like the coverage of it because of the brightening effect, it is a thick, pasty concealer and it does settle in my fine lines. Maybe I use too much of it, and that’s the reason why it settles. You only need a tiny amount of this concealer, but since it was in my project pan, I believe I was using more than necessary to finish it up quickly. But still, in my opinion it is a bit greasy, so it’s not something I reach for to use on my face, only the eye area.

 

 

The best result I’ve gotten using this concealer is to buff it with the ELF studio flawless concealer brush*, because this brush makes the concealer blend nicely and flawlessly onto the skin, it does give a natural finish. The concealer doesn’t feel and look as heavy as when I use it with other brushes, and I like to bring a bit of the concealer down, past the under eye part, to try to blend it better on the skin and get a (discreet) brightening effect on the cheeks.

 

ELF brush compared to Erase Paste

 

It does take a long time to use a full jar up (when I only had this concealer, it took me more than a year to finish up with daily use) and I still have 2 jars of it to be used, one of which is already open. Because I’ve been using it daily for a while, I’ve gotten kind of tired of using it, so as I said on my other post, I’ve turned to my NARS radiant creamy concealer, but when I use it up, I’ll probably have to go back to Erase Paste.

 

All in all, it is a good high coverage concealer, but it’s honestly not my favorite. It is too creamy and I feel that its brightening effect and thick coverage kind of disappear throughout the day in warm weather (which is the type of weather I get almost the whole year), specially without setting it with a powder.

 

Erase Paste costs $26 US dollars and it is not for sale in Brazil.

Have you ever used Erase Paste? If so, what do you think of it?

 

*The link to the elf store is not an affiliated link, it’s just to make it easier for you to find it, in case you were curious

2 thoughts on “The second finished product – Benefit Erase Paste – review

  1. Kelly Laurence says:

    I felt the same way you do about the product when I tried a sample of it. I decided against purchasing it and instead bought the NARS radiant concealer. Great review! xo Kelly msdioraddict.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

